Nominations open for PCA Industry Awards 2022

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Protected Cropping Australia (PCA) Industry Awards.

The biennial Awards are a way for peak industry body Protected Cropping Australia to recognise the contribution of inspiring individuals working to improve Australia’s protected cropping sector, and to celebrate their achievements.

Each award-winner receives a year’s free PCA membership along with a personalised trophy, a certificate and a logo for use in their promotional activities.

The nomination window is open until COB on Friday 15 October 2021.

The winners in each of the awards categories will be announced at the next PCA Conference, rescheduled for 28-31 March 2022 in Coffs Harbour, NSW.

Award categories

To nominate a person or business for a PCA Industry Award, let PCA know who you think would be worthy recipients in one or more of these categories:

  • Outstanding Contribution: growers who’ve made ‘significant contributions to the protected cropping industry and who have been inspirational role models’.
  • Grower of the Year: growers who are outstanding across all aspects of production, innovative and contribute actively to the broader PC industry.
  • Young Achiever of the Year: recognising the next generation’s future leaders – sector participants under 30 years of age who are ‘committed to enhancing the protected cropping industry’.
  • Industry Development Award: industry professionals making valuable contributions to the future course of Australia’s PC sector, including those active in the areas of researcg, training, extension and industry associations.

How to nominate

Each nomination must include the following components:

  • Contact details for the nominator (person making the nomination)
  • Contact details for the nominee. (Note: PCA policy is not to inform nominees about who has nominated or endorsed them.)
  • A nomination statement 200-500 words in length, outlining why you think the nominated candidate should receive this award. This statement should describe the candidate’s work in general, drawing particular attention to contributions that merit the award for which the person is being nominated.
  • A citation statement, to be used if the candidate is selected. This should be a concise statement (a maximum of 25 words) describing key technical or professional accomplishment that make the candidate deserving of this award. The final wording for awardees will be at the discretion of the Award Committee.
  • Evidence of service to the protected cropping industry, the impact of which substantially exceeds what would typically be expected. Note that this impact might be on the basis of a single but significant contribution, or a series of contributions, sustained over several years

Note that no director, staff member or consultant engaged by PCA is eligible for any PCA Industry Award.

Further information and nomination

There is no charge for nominating – though there is a registration fee to attend the PCA Conference and the Awards Dinner, at which the winners will be announced.

Any queries regarding the nomination process should be directed to Jordyn from ASN Events before the closing date, Friday 15 October 2021.

To access the nomination form for the 2022 PCA Industry Awards, click here.

Source: PCA Awards I Protected Cropping Australia (PCA)